With the summer holiday season in full flow, I have asked some of my marketing friends to put together a summer marketing reading list of our top pick of business books to keep your mind ticking over whilst sitting by the pool.

Topics range from pricing strategies to content marketing and from looking at leadership principles from winning sports teams to the future of things!

It’s a diverse collection and I think there’s something for almost everyone. I would to love to hear your top business books recommendations too. Please comment below.

Postcapitalism: A Guide To Our Future by Paul Mason

The most thought-provoking book I’ve seen this year and one that would probably interest clients with a futurist bent. For those of us speculating on the changes being wrought by the emergence of the fourth industrial wave – connected intelligence – it’s the potential implications for business strategy and the inevitable disruption of established business models that is most challenging. I’m tempted to hide behind the sofa… Lots of implications for marketers, so highly recommended.

Brian Prescott https://uk.linkedin.com/in/brianprescott

Rethink: The Surprising History of New Ideas

Not strictly a business book but nonetheless, fascinating, erudite and hot off the press, Steven shows what we can learn by returning to discarded ideas, and considering them from a different perspective.

Rethink is the story of how old ideas that were mocked or ignored for centuries are now storming back to the cutting edge of research, and informing the way we lead our lives – and run our businesses.

Alex Swann https://uk.linkedin.com/in/alexswann

Tribal Leadership by Dave Logan, JohnKing and Halee Fischer-Wright

For creating great teams, I recommend this book. It’s a fascinating read into improving the work culture to deliver a high performance organisation which can thrive in any economy.

Trevor Salomon https://uk.linkedin.com/in/trevorsalomon

The Back of the Napkin by Dan Roam

Slightly different but is all about how to present complex issues with simple diagrams and images. A big challenge for most businesses and a great one for the toolbox.

Nik Haidar https://uk.linkedin.com/in/nhaidar

Built to Sell by John Warrillow

It explores how to structure a business to maximise its end value.

Sarah Bolton Howard

The Psychology Of Price by Leigh Caldwell

Explores how to use pricing to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction.

Christine Moses   https://uk.linkedin.com/in/christinemoses

Getting Goosebumps, a pragmatic guide to inbound marketing by Bryan Adams and Dave Hazlehurst

Great advice throughout, illustrated with brilliant quotes and stories.

Christine Moses   https://uk.linkedin.com/in/christinemoses

It’s Not How Good You Are Its How Good You Want To Be by Paul Arden

A bit quirky! The world’s top advertising guru, Paul Arden (his own words), offers up his wisdom on issues as diverse as problem solving, responding to a brief, communicating, playing your cards right, making mistakes, and creativity – all endeavours that can be applied to aspects of modern life.

Julie Brook https://uk.linkedin.com/in/juliehbrook

The Challenger Sale by Matthew Dixon and Brent Adamson

If you’re looking to push the idea of content marketing this is excellent.

Nik Haidar https://uk.linkedin.com/in/nhaidar

Lean Start Up by Eric Reis

I love this, a great book about being agile and how you can take this into normal working life.

Jason Russell https://uk.linkedin.com/in/jason-russell-5aa54b2

Also recommended by Ged Leigh https://uk.linkedin.com/in/gedleigh

Winning by Clive Woodward

Tracking the route of the England Rugby team from 1997 to 2003 when Johnny Wilkinson did ‘that kick’ to win the Rugby World Cup. This is now one of the top books recommended to leaders in the Army and Royal Marines about leadership.

Ed Olphin https://uk.linkedin.com/in/eolphin

As for me? I’m currently reading:

On the Map – Why the world looks the way it does by Simon Garfield

I actually bought this while on holiday earlier this year. Maps old and new have always fascinated me. This book looks at how maps from the earliest innocent sketches of the world around us all the way up to Google Maps have the power to change our thinking and influence our actions.

David Long https://uk.linkedin.com/in/davidlong

So there you have it, a summer marketing reading list that should keep your brain fully occupied over the next few weeks and well into the autumn. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *